Knifemaking: The Spellcaster Epilogue

“Faithless is he that says farewell when the road darkens.”

J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

The Spellcaster was a lesson in faith- I wasn’t sure if it would even turn out.  I loved the idea that the steel came from a bedframe but I wouldn’t know if it would harden and temper properly till I had put in a lot of work on it.  It did.  I’ve been working on this blade a long time off and on and finally, like many things in life, I just had to take a leap and just go for it.  It is a thinner blade, very nimble and made for a smaller hand (well, smaller than mine….)

The lesson here is to trust that things will be ok, even if they aren’t the way you expected they would be.  Even if they aren’t the way you would like them to be.  This is something I struggle with- letting things be as they are.  In order to finish this blade I had to let it be as it was. Only then could I see how beautiful it really was.

This is after heat treat.  A file couldn’t touch it.  The bedframe delivered…   

I used white oak for the handle.  I love oak.  It has mass and it’s heavy.  It takes up space and lets you know that it’s there.  In Celtic lore, oak is a protector, wise and strong and a bridge to otherworldly places.  I wanted that for this blade.

This is a beautiful process and one of my favorites: 

  Roughing it out…The grain is starting to come out…there is a woodworkers’ trick where the wood is rubbed down lightly with water and allowed to sit- this brings the grain to prominence.There she is….

Brass rivets with a walnut danish oil, finished with tung oil.       


Always keep your faith.  This is the lesson of the Spellcaster.

Leave a Reply

